American Elm - Mapleton
|Common Name||American Elm|
|Address||1365 West 800 North, Mapleton|
|DBH Diameter at Breast Height (DBH) is the standard forestry measurement of the tree's trunk diameter at 4.5 ft from the base.||40 Inches|
|Name of Nominator||Orpha Dee Johnson|
|Ownership||Hugh and Erma Mendenhall Hjorth|
William Mendenhall was a leader in agricultural and horticultural development in Utah Valley. His early experience in fruitful Delaware coupled with his six years of extensive grain and vegetable growing in Iowa, gave him a background few pioneers had.
On June 30, 1855 he was elected resident of Universal Scientific Society at Springville. He was a member of the Deseret Scientific Society of Utah in 1857. In the early 1860's the Farmer and Gardeners' Club was organized with William Mendenhall as president and Edwin Whiting as treasurer.
Under the influence and guidance of these two men, many trees were introduced to the Springville-Mapleton landscape. In a report on February 6, 1869 Mendenhall suggest the idea of wetting out a row of fruit trees on both sides of Main Street from the Houtz Mill to Roundy's on the south. He kept an account book of which gives us some information about the planting and harvests of early Springville history.
On a return trip from his Native Delaware, he brought cuttings, young trees, and various other berries, grapes, and shrubs, among which was the Elm tree that stands on the Hjorth property today. Through the years, it has had good care and thus far has escaped the dreaded Dutch Elm disease. It has been determined that the tree was planted about 1885. Hannah Bird Mendenhall stated that it was a young sapling when she came to live here as a bride in 1900. It is one of the oldest trees in Mapleton.
|Author||Orpha Dee Johnson|